DUI Laws For Adults vs. Minors In Georgia

Home » Blog » DUI Laws For Adults vs. Minors In Georgia

The laws in Athens, Georgia, for DUIs are straightforward. They are strict laws in place for adults as well as minors. In Georgia, there is a no tolerance attitude to DUIs, and the penalties that minors face are just as serious as adults. A DUI lawyer in Georgia can help both an adult or a minor with a DUI charge.

The laws in Georgia for DUIs for those 15 or under include the loss of driving privileges until the age of 17. There is also a $210 fine and the need to complete a DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program. There may even be additional costs incurred.

First Offense DUI

For drivers that are 16 years old to 20 years of age, a first offense DUI will result in a license suspension of six months if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is under 0.08 percent. This bumps to a 12-month driver’s license suspension if you BAC is 0.08 percent or higher. There is also a $210 fee and the need to complete a DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program.

For adults that are 21 years old and older, a first offense DUI will bring a license suspension for up to one year, a $300 to $1000 fine, and completion of a DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program. There is also a mandatory 40 hours of community service and the possibility of one year of jail time.

Second Offense DUI

In the second offense of a DUI for a minor 15 or younger, driving privileges are suspended until the age of 18. There is also a $310 fee, and a DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program is required. Additional fees may occur as well.

Second offense DUIs for those 16 to 20 years of age includes a license suspension for 18 months, $310 fee, and DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program participation. There may also be a clinical evaluation with possible alcohol treatment and an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.

A second offense DUI as an adult 21 years old and older, could result in 18 months to three-year license suspension, $600 to $1000 fine, and DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program completion. Clinical evaluation with possible alcohol treatment may also be required as well as 30 days of community service. There is also a minimum of 48 hours in jail with the possibility 90 days to one year in jail as well as an interlock ignition device.

Third Offense DUI

A third offense of a DUI for those 15 and under, includes a $410 fee and the completion of a DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program. You will also lose your driving privileges until the age of 18.

A third offense DUI for drivers 16 to 20 years old also includes license suspension for five years, $410 fee, and DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program participation. Clinical evaluation with possible alcohol treatment and an ignition interlock device may also be required.

A third offense of DUI as an adult 21 years old and older, will result in the loss of your driving privileges for five years, $1000 to $5000 fine and 15 day minimum in jail. There is also 30 days of mandatory community service and the need to complete a DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program. Clinical evaluation and treatment is required as well as the possibility of an interlock ignition device.

Can an Athens DUI Lawyer Help Me with My DUI Case?

Getting a DUI arrest can make you feel lost. Having an Athens DUI lawyer can help. They will represent you in court and walk you through the legal process. The court system is complex for DUI cases, and an Athens DUI lawyer will make the process easier for you.

You may have questions or concerns about your DUI arrest. Your Athens DUI lawyer will provide you with the answers you are looking for in your DUI case. They know the laws for DUIs and will fight for your legal rights. No matter if it is your first DUI offense or your third, a DUI lawyer in Georgia can help.

Contact a DUI lawyer in Georgia Now

When arrested for a DUI, you need the legal representation of an Athens DUI lawyer that you can count on in your case. The DUI lawyers at Athens DUI Lawyers can help. They will help you understand your legal rights and fight to win your case. You can rely on the DUI lawyers at DUI Athens Lawyers. They will fight for you after a DUI arrest. Contact us today to set up a consultation. We are ready to assist you today.